Certification is essential to administer the ECAS. To obtain certification to administer the ECAS, you must successfully complete the online training and receive a certificate of competency. Certification is valid for 2 years after which you can extend this by successfully completing the brief recertification training.

Contact to gain access to the online training. Please state in the subject line if you are enquiring about the recertification training.

How to access the online training:

New trainees

There are 5 steps to completing the ECAS training for those obtaining certification for the first time:

Step 1: Watch an interactive presentation (slides & audio).
Step 2: Read ECAS guidelines and FAQS.
Step 3: Watch a training video.
Step 4: Have a go with a friend or colleague.
Step 5: Complete the online ECAS video competency assessment. This programme is certified by the European Network for the Cure of ALS (ENCALS).

To access the online training for new trainees, please click here (password restricted).


This recertification training is for those who have already completed the competency assessment for new trainees but their certification has expired (certification is valid for 2 years from the date printed on your certificate). There are 2 steps to extend the validity of your certification:

Step 1: Watch a training video (optional).
Step 2: Complete the online ECAS recertification competency assessment.

To access the online recertification training, please click here (password restricted).